Travel and Adventure

“If travel has momentum and wants to stay in motion, then adventure has the gravitational pull of a black hole. The more you do it, the more you find a way to keep doing it.” -Josh Davis

I love you Josh Davis, because you are so right. Traveling is one of the things I love most. But for me, traveling is not about sight-seeing or getting tours of monuments. How boring! It’s about meeting people, learning the ways of a new culture, eating different food, going to festivals, learning a language, dancing, and exploring. Traveling is about adventure. Living in the NOW. Exploring nature and investigating the world.

If my travels just consisted of going on “whisper head-set” tours and walking around museums, I would never travel again. Spending so much money for information that I’m going to instantly forget. Adventure is about making relationships with people and learning about their culture and perspectives. We can only truly learn about the world if we experience it ourselves! We can only have compassion for others if we KNOW them and have experienced the way they live!

Once you experience the true meaning of adventure, the more you will find a way to keep doing it.

LIVE. EXPLORE. CREATE YOUR OWN ADVENTURE.

I am living in Mexico right now and have been here for almost 3 months. I absolutely love it because I have learned so much about the people, the culture, and the food. Before I went to Mexico, I spent 3 months in Costa Rica. When I was there, I hiked, zip-lined, spent hours in the ocean, surfed, snorkeled, drank wine, took Spanish classes, stayed with a host family, rented a car, and showered in only cold water. I not only explored the country, but I made relationships and friendships with the people. And most of all, I put my American-way-of-doing-things aside and lived how the Costa Ricans lived. THIS is what traveling is. THIS is adventure.

You can travel without adventure. But you can’t have adventure without an open mind, a creative heart, and a desire to learn and explore.

Kelsey’s Notes: April 16, 2014

Today’s Challenges:

  • Go with the flow
  • Genuinely ENJOY the sun!
  • Talk to my mom on the phone.🙂

Today I am thankful for:

  • Juan and Artemisa Lira–one of the most amazing Mexican couples I have met here. This morning we stopped by their house to give them some money for the fish tacos they are going to cook us on Saturday. They stopped everything they were doing and sat down with us on their white picnic table. We talked for hours. Such caring, loving, and special people. They never stop telling me that I am such a blessing to them and they will never stop praying for me. So thankful for them today.
  • I AM GOING TO ECUADOR on May 15th! More adventure to come!

 

 

 

What do you think about this?

