Discipline

“Remember, whatever your goal is– whether it’s to get in good physical shape or change a negative attitude–you have what it takes. So start drawing on God’s power to help you achieve it. As you do–little by little–you’ll begin to find more freedom, more success, and more fulfillment than you could ever imagine.” Joyce Meyer

You have what it takes. I love that! But in order to achieve a goal, we need DISCIPLINE. We need self-discipline and self-control to succeed in anything! By nature, we humans are not very good at disciplining and controlling ourselves when temptation comes. We’re really bad at saying NO. So many times, I find myself say, “Ah, whatever. YOLO.” And then I do something stupid or something that will take me a step back from achieving my goal. Like eating 10 cookies when I’m trying to lose weight. Or speaking English with some friends because it’s easier than speaking Spanish. It’s easy to take the easy way out!

The good thing is that God gives strength and when we depend on his power, we can be successful. And like Joyce says, “You will begin to find more FREEDOM, more SUCCESS, and more FULFILLMENT than you could ever imagine.”

Leaning on God’s strength to find discipline and self-control will lead to freedom, success, and fulfillment.

“He did all this so you would never say to yourself, ‘I have achieved this wealth with my own strength and energy.’ Remember the Lord your God. He is the one who gives you power to be successful.” Deuteronomy 8:17-18

Kelsey’s Notes: April 14th, 2014

Today’s Challenges:

  • Do yoga
  • Learn how to make Mexican tortillas
  • Smell a flower
  • Drink A LOT of water

Today I am thankful for:

  • MY SIGHT! A sweet little girl here in Mexico had a brain aneurysm, was hospitalized for 2 months, and now is blind. I can’t imagine having the ability to see my entire life and then it just being taken away! My prayers go out to sweet Alyson. And today I am thankful that I can see the people that I love, food, flowers, and sunlight!
  • I’m going to GRAD SCHOOL in the Fall! University of Oregon, Language Teaching Specialization Masters Program. Ah! So excited, so thankful, and feel so blessed!

 

What do you think about this?

