Just Love Yourself… It’s Simple.

“I was thinking a lot lately about the amount of time women spend in front of the mirror, making themselves look ‘pretty’ only then to turn around and make ugly comments with serious, sour faces. What’s the point? If you’re going to be ugly, embrace it. Let yourself go ugly. If you want to be beautiful, all you need is a smile, and maybe some lip gloss and mascara too.” -Anna Myers

Ha! I LOVE this. Written by my fellow yogi and lovely friend, Anna, who I met in Costa Rica in my Yoga Teacher Training program. She’s got it right, that’s for sure.

Why do we girls spend so much time trying to make ourselves look pretty and then critique ourselves so harshly?! What is the point?

JUST LOVE YOURSELF. You have to live with yourself forever and you’re kinda stuck with the face and body you have. So embrace it. And if you REALLY think you’re ugly, which you probably aren’t, just go with it and be ugly. But if you want to be pretty, just stop complaining, have some confidence, put on a smile, and conquer the world. It’s simple.

 

Kelsey’s Notes: April 13th, 2014

Today’s Challenges:

  • Make a healthy smoothie
  • Study Spanish for an hour
  • Put my smart phone and computer away for an hour and completely DISCONNECT

Today I am thankful for:

  • …my wonderful yoga practice this morning in my tiny little casita. I usually do yoga with music, but today I decided to practice quietly and focus on breathing. I was a little anxious for some reason when I woke up this morning and my quiet and slower-paced practice really helped me relax. However, as I was enjoying the silence, my next door neighbors began to blast their music, loud and upbeat songs in both Spanish and English. The dogs started barking and people were yelling random things in the street. Well, I was simply reminded to LET IT BE and ACCEPT WHAT IS. My heart is thankful to be in this crazy, awesome, unique culture.
  • …I got to go to an awesome wedding celebration last night in my favorite village, Francisco Murguia. Of course the food was delicious and we celebrated in the middle of a dirt road with a live band on top of an empty semi-truck.

One thought on “Just Love Yourself… It’s Simple.

  1. Pingback: Just Love Yourself… It’s Simple. | Kelsey Hertel

What do you think about this?

