Going Chemical-Free

The CHEMICAL-FREE life-style. Hippie, you say? Ah, no. Healthy.

A few months ago, I began researching this topic. I talked to some of my friends who no longer used shampoo or conditioner. I heard the never-eat-processed-food-or-you-will-die protests. And as a college student living in Eugene, Oregon (where it is now 5 cents for a bag at every store), I thought I had heard everything there is to hear about living an eco-friendly life-style. Well, it’s true. I was very educated about how to be friendly to our environment, but I didn’t know that I was being unfriendly to my hair, skin, and body by using beauty and hair products that contain toxic chemicals.

My whole life, I used the typical Wal-Mart brand shampoo and conditioner. And I never bought expensive make-up because, oh man, it was so-freaking expensive. However, the last few years, I had extremely terrible acne on my forehead, so I started using Bare Minerals liquid moisturizer and powder on my face to cover it up. Yeah… that didn’t help. Now that I’ve learned what chemicals are in Bare Minerals, I’m sure it made it worse. Whoever told me Bare Minerals was good for your skin, is a big-fat liar! (Sorry, no offense.)

I recently graduated from college and thought it would be a good time to do some research on the topic. And let me tell you, I was NOT expecting that my personal hygiene life-style would change as dramatically as it has. I have thrown away all my shampoo, conditioner, make-up, deodorant, hair spray, dry shampoo, shaving cream, lip gloss, sunscreen, and lotions. I have made my own powder foundation (wow, it’s amazing!), perfume/body spray, dry shampoo, hand soap, body wash, and make-up setting spray. On top of that, I have stopped using store-bought shampoo and conditioner. I cannot tell you how much better my SKIN and HAIR feel. My hair has never been so soft and it does not get greasy!! What!? I didn’t know that was possible!

I have also made the switch to only shopping at Organic Food Grocery Stores. Not only is the food safer and healthier, but I think it tastes better too.🙂 I used to think that Trader Joe’s or other local organic stores were extremely more expensive. But I’ve done some comparing… and I’ve come to the conclusion that the prices are VERY close. It’s worth it.

Switching to a chemical-free life-style is a drastic change, but OH MY GOODNESS, it’s so EASY. I am a firm believer that we should be living the healthiest lives we can. We’re on the same team as our bodies (sorry, but you’re stuck with the one you’ve got). We’ve gotta do everything we can to love ourselves– body and mind.

What do you think about this?

